The best part of summer

paddleboard festival

Summer is one of my favorite times of the year, but not for the usual reasons. Sure, I do enjoy cook-outs and pool parties as much as the next girl, but the best part about summer for me are the open water swimming competitions. Though I train predominately in the pool, I prefer racing in the ocean. Open water races generally range from half-mile swims for little kids to marathon events of 25 kilometers or more. At this point the longest swim I have completed was a 3-mile race in Santa Barbara last summer, though I plan to race a 6-mile event this July. I am starting the open water season off in two weeks with a 1-mile sprint as part of the Santa Monica Pier Paddleboard Race and Ocean Festival and will keep this blog up to date with my results and training! Here is a link to the event:

http://santamonicapier.org/pier-paddle/

 

 

Leave a comment