Seal beach swim update!

I completed my 1st open water swim for this season in Seal Beach today!

Warming up before the swim

Warming up before the swim

Nikki and me before the swim!

Nikki and me before the swim!

My friend Nikki, my mom and I all headed down to Seal beach early this morning to get ready to start the swim. The surf was practically nonexistent and the water was a warm 65 degrees, making conditions perfect. The 3 mile race was comprised of 62 swimmers and the course was a large triangle.

The course map for the 3 mile swim

Course map for the 3 mile swim

At the start of the race my goggles fogged so badly that I couldn’t even see Nikki, so I had to stop and rinse them before continuing but after that we really got moving. Between the 1st and 2nd buoys, the field spread out and the water gradually got warmer. When we were halfway back to the middle buoys, I noticed that there that was another girl was tailing us and this made the race more interesting. The water got cold again on the south side of the pier as I continued to push myself around the course. Just as I was rounding the pier my cap slipped off and I had to swim the rest of the way without it, which made the swim in seem really long.

Post swim

Post swim

Leave a comment