Searching for the perfect suit for open water

While competitive swim suits have continued to evolve since their conception in the early 20th century, salt water and sand pose their own challenges to swimmers and their outfits. I had my first taste of ocean swimming through the Los Angeles County Junior Lifeguard Program when I was 13 years old and spent the following summers enthusiastically sporting the characteristic navy racer back speedo. This thick-strapped, stretchy costume succeeded only in looking unflattering on everyone from the timid “Cs” to the confident “As”. Not only does it look bad, but the thick straps chafe and the stretchy fabric traps more sand than you could imagine.

At JG nationals

At JG nationals a few years ago

I have since moved on to tryout other cuts and fabrics, searching for that perfect suit that minimizes both skin chafing and the quantity of sand taken as a souvenir while having comfort and support. While most major brand suits are made with an opaque outer layer and a thinner liner, this double layered system causes sand to become trapped and it is almost impossible to get it out.

I have since moved on to tryout other cuts and fabrics, searching for that perfect suit that minimizes both skin chafing and the quantity of sand taken as a souvenir while having comfort and support. While most major brand suits are made with an opaque outer layer and a thinner liner, this double layered system causes sand to become trapped and it is almost impossible to get it out. The suit I find the most comfortable and wear everyday in the pool is made by Nike, but is even worse when it comes to sand.

My favorite bikini designer is called Jolyn and the suits are both attractive and made to stay on during workouts. The company also makes some single layer one-piece suits that would be good for open water were it not that the seams are sort of scratchy and chafe.

Jolyn one-piece at Lifeguard Regionals

Jolyn one-piece at Lifeguard Regionals last summer

Wearing a jolyn bikini with my cousin Maddy

Wearing a jolyn bikini with my cousin Maddy

I am hoping to to find the perfect suit for my open water pursuits! Let me know if you have any suggestions.

Leave a comment