Countdown to Catalina: 2 days

Since I have two days left before I begin my crossing, I thought I would define two important principles of Marathon Swimming that I will be adhering to:

1. Unassisted

This means that I will be swimming entirely on my own power without supportive contact with the boat, kayak, or any other people. An example of supportive contact would be hanging on to the kayak. I will only be wearing standard marathon swimming attire: swimsuit, cap, goggles, ear plugs, and grease.

2. Nonstop

This means that once the swim starts, I will not be getting out until I finish on the mainland. I will not be hanging on to the boat or any floatation device, and will only be treading water when I am feeding.

 

To see previous countdown posts:

3 Days

4 Days

5 Days

6 Days

7 Days

8 Days

9 Days

10 Days

Leave a comment