The Smith cap travels the world!

While the summer is just beginning, I have already traveled to New York City, Sydney, and Santa Rosa. Whenever I travel, I make a point to find a pool, both because I need a place to swim but also because it interesting to meet local swimmers. In NYC, I swam at a health club pool that was upstairs and had a gorgeous pyramidal glass roof. While visiting Sydney, I frequented the famous public baths, located adjacent to popular beaches and filled with with ocean water. The Bondi Icebergs pool is famous for swimmers who use the pool year round even when the water is “icy” cold. Personally, I preferred the Bronte Baths because they were smaller, less crowded, and free. My family and I will also be traveling to Europe this summer and my cap and I look forward to exploring the local swimming culture in each destination.

At Bondi Icebergs (Sydney)

At Bondi Icebergs, Sydney (This facility is amazing, but they charge a little too much)

Butterfly at Bronte Baths (Sydney)

Butterfly at Bronte Baths, Sydney (Felt like a pool, but tasted like the ocean)

Bronte Baths, Sydney

Bronte Baths, Sydney (The water wasn’t even that cold after a while)

The Cap hangs out in Santa Rosa

The Cap hangs out in Santa Rosa

Santa Rosa Selfie

Santa Rosa Selfie (This pool was overheated for the aquarobics ladies)

Bronte Baths, Sydney

Bronte Baths, Sydney (This pool was gorgeous and free!)

Bondi Icebergs, Sydney

Bondi Icebergs, Sydney (Doesn’t the weather look perfect and warm for a swim!)

Leave a comment